Friday, April 24, 2009

Take Care of Yours...

Let me start off by saying that I am a single parent whose father does help me with our daughter. Furthermore, my opinions are just THAT (even though I very VERY seldomly think that I am wrong) so if you don't like it, DON'T READ IT!!!!Now, here we go...





Ever since I've been in college, I've heard constant stories of baby mama/daddy drama. Its always a daddy not helping financially or with raising the child, or a mommy who denies rights to the child or who also doesn't want the responsibility of their off spring. What up with that?!?!?! I just am soooo tired and sick of hearing excuses of why children aren't claimed by BOTH parents. NO EXCUSES PEOPLE... NONE!!!! It is very painful for me to see one person that struggles to take care of their offspring. We are not asexual; I am pretty sure no human can make a baby by his/her self. So why is this still even an issue?!?!?!

Seriously, in 2009 there are soooo many alternatives (some of which I don't agree) and yet and still there are so many children born and unwanted by either one or both parents. This is nothing short of ridiculous! I have heard stories from women that their significant other doesn't take care of his children in prior relationship because the mother is "crazy." A couple of questions/red flags begin to come to mind...

One: Did you not know she was crazy when they met ? And if he did, why still engage in intercourse with her? And if he didn't know, he decided to be intimate with someone who he didn't know very well. True indeed this may not apply in every case, but it happens more often than not.

Two: Why would he allow someone who is unstable to keep custody of his child? There are good fathers out there, but USUALLY the mother tends to be the more dominant parent and a lot of fathers do not want the FULL responsibility of a child. They know it would cost a lot of the freedom. It sort of looks like the mother may be sane enough to completely care for the child, but not sane enough to get his help. Hmmm...

Three: Why does this stop him from raising his child?!?!?!?! IT SHOULDN'T!!! Your children are your responsibility, and that's it!! Regardless of how it happened, you are still the parent and should want to guide and nurture your own! There should be no interference, we all have hard times, but the child's well being should be a top priority for BOTH parents.


I say all of that to say this: We cannot reinforce this kind of behavior. There is no reason that any mother or father should not step up and give 100% to their children. Men, I know it may have not been planned and it cuts into what you had in mind for your life, but the child(ren) is your life now. Step up, and you'll be glad that you did trust me! The unconditional love that parents and children share is infinite and very fulfilling. Ladies, you may not like to hear this, but WE ARE PART TO BLAME FOR THIS! Yea I said it lol! If you allow your man, brother, homie, cousin, father, etc. not take care of his duties, whose to say the father of your children will!! As long as we make it appear to be ok, we're not just affecting him. We're affecting every woman he gets pregnant and all those unaccounted for children. Its a group effort, so let's end this cycle and give these kids what they deserve!!!
So ladies and gentlemen, I beg of you, please Take Care of Yours!!!

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Adventures of Hair & Makeup!



My makeup and how I'm rockin the 'do for Spring Break!!



Ok, I'm about to start getting videos on here and up and running, but I thought I'd give a little intro into where I'm going with this blog. When it comes to hair, its something I've been into for a while and I KNOW I have a lot to share when it comes to that. I just really got obsessed with makeup this past summer (Summer '08). I started watching different videos on Youtube (mainly BeautyAllure & Kuippo1207) and they were amazing!!! I really miss BeautyAllure, she had a variety of nice looks and Kuippo1207 is nothing short of amazing; you gotta check her out! I have a very small collection of makeup that is still growing and I want to be able to do looks that I learn and share. Now with hair, I feel that I know ALOT about extensions that I don't see enough of. I'm currently using Ateya's hair regimen with Aphogee and it is great and I wanna share other tricks and looks that I know. So just bare with me, I'm definitely gonna get this up and running!!! God Bless!!



A full look!!!!

Friday, February 27, 2009

Updates

Hi its Whitney, and thanks for stopping back by Laidylike!!! I will be beginning to have videos of my journeys with Hair, Makeup, Cooking, and Fashion!!!! Yaaay!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It will be coming soon, and I'm very excited, so stay tuned and I will definitely have more to come so stick around!!!!!! God bless!!!

Sunday, February 15, 2009

No Valentine Blues

Hi everyone!! Ok so its Feb. 15 and all I've been hearing is gripes and grumbles from folks with no Valentines... WHAT?!?! Its really sad how jealous and bitter we can all sometimes be inside which is perfectly natural, but PEOPLE!!! In society so many young women feel that they need a significant other as validation of success, beauty or happiness. WRONG!!! I won't lie, its so nice to be in love, but I feel like if you're not happy by yourself, then you can't truly know what to expect and want from a relationship. It seems like nowadays, being single is a shackle or a curse rather than a form of liberation and freedom. Relationships can be stressful, especially if everything isn't rainbows and sunshine. They can be tough, and sadly for some, relationships can be detrimental. So many of us are guilty of trying to make something work, when deep down we know are partner is not "The One." Especially women, YES LADIES: you know we do!! We fall in love and love soo hard, and in fear of being talked about or lonely, we will stay in relationships that deny us happiness. We stay for financial stability, for children, to help our boo who doesn't wanna be helped. This is what brings me to my point: Everything that glitters isn't gold!! I hate to use such cliches, but it is what it is. You may be slightly covetous of someone's love life, but you have no clue what these people do behind closed doors!! I am happily single and I know a few people in relationships who I would NEVER trade places with. So for all my singles out there, get on your knees and Thank God for not having the stress that some relationships can bring. Take it from me, it truly is a blessing. Not in disguise, a blessing clear as day!!!

Friday, February 13, 2009

FIRST BLOG!!


Hiiii!!!!!!!!!!!!! My name is Whitney and this is my Blogspot, LaidyLike!!! In this blog, I will be blogging about a NUMBER of things. I will have different topics from my opinion and perspective, along with reviews. I will write about, issues, television, makeup, and any old thing I feel like rambling about lol. I will also have videos coming up soon!!! Now a little about me: I am 22 years old today (Happy Bday to me!!) and I attend Jackson State University in Jackson, MS. i have a beautiful daughter named Madison. She's one going on 30 lol. I love dancing, been doin it since I was 9, and my new interests are: COOKING AND MAKEUP. That's basically it, stay tuned, I have way more to come!!