Friday, April 24, 2009

Take Care of Yours...

Let me start off by saying that I am a single parent whose father does help me with our daughter. Furthermore, my opinions are just THAT (even though I very VERY seldomly think that I am wrong) so if you don't like it, DON'T READ IT!!!!Now, here we go...





Ever since I've been in college, I've heard constant stories of baby mama/daddy drama. Its always a daddy not helping financially or with raising the child, or a mommy who denies rights to the child or who also doesn't want the responsibility of their off spring. What up with that?!?!?! I just am soooo tired and sick of hearing excuses of why children aren't claimed by BOTH parents. NO EXCUSES PEOPLE... NONE!!!! It is very painful for me to see one person that struggles to take care of their offspring. We are not asexual; I am pretty sure no human can make a baby by his/her self. So why is this still even an issue?!?!?!

Seriously, in 2009 there are soooo many alternatives (some of which I don't agree) and yet and still there are so many children born and unwanted by either one or both parents. This is nothing short of ridiculous! I have heard stories from women that their significant other doesn't take care of his children in prior relationship because the mother is "crazy." A couple of questions/red flags begin to come to mind...

One: Did you not know she was crazy when they met ? And if he did, why still engage in intercourse with her? And if he didn't know, he decided to be intimate with someone who he didn't know very well. True indeed this may not apply in every case, but it happens more often than not.

Two: Why would he allow someone who is unstable to keep custody of his child? There are good fathers out there, but USUALLY the mother tends to be the more dominant parent and a lot of fathers do not want the FULL responsibility of a child. They know it would cost a lot of the freedom. It sort of looks like the mother may be sane enough to completely care for the child, but not sane enough to get his help. Hmmm...

Three: Why does this stop him from raising his child?!?!?!?! IT SHOULDN'T!!! Your children are your responsibility, and that's it!! Regardless of how it happened, you are still the parent and should want to guide and nurture your own! There should be no interference, we all have hard times, but the child's well being should be a top priority for BOTH parents.


I say all of that to say this: We cannot reinforce this kind of behavior. There is no reason that any mother or father should not step up and give 100% to their children. Men, I know it may have not been planned and it cuts into what you had in mind for your life, but the child(ren) is your life now. Step up, and you'll be glad that you did trust me! The unconditional love that parents and children share is infinite and very fulfilling. Ladies, you may not like to hear this, but WE ARE PART TO BLAME FOR THIS! Yea I said it lol! If you allow your man, brother, homie, cousin, father, etc. not take care of his duties, whose to say the father of your children will!! As long as we make it appear to be ok, we're not just affecting him. We're affecting every woman he gets pregnant and all those unaccounted for children. Its a group effort, so let's end this cycle and give these kids what they deserve!!!
So ladies and gentlemen, I beg of you, please Take Care of Yours!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment